All roads led to St. Augustine’s College, Dungarvan on Sunday 6th December 2015 and the highlight of the day was saved for the last race involving over two hundred athletes.  A good start was achieved by the Ennis men of Dara Chesser, Karl Fitzmaurice, Keven Chesser, Patrick Chesser and Brian Murphy.  They settled in top quarter of competitors, moving steadily through the field as the race progressed over the 6000m race.  In the final lap Dara broke with the leading group finishing in 5th place, Karl in 9th, Kevin 12th, Patrick 19th and Brian Murphy in 79th position.  Ennis Track won the team title with a winning margin of 78 points.  This was a superb team performance.


Storm Desmond had blown over leaving for a calm day in Dungarvan with running conditions sticky and muddy underfoot after the heavy rain.  The course itself was very flat and narrow in areas.

First race of the day was the girls under 11s who finished a very credible 4th place.  The team consisted of:  Eileen Mannion, Avril Lillis, Ellen McSherry, Mollie Pike, Ruth Leyden, Nessa Ni Leachtnain.  Aisling Maloney was running for the Clare Team.

U11 Boys – Ennis Track 3rd place –  160pts

The team consisted of: Tom Magure and Tom Curran led the way to bronze medals 14th and 32nd and were followed by their team mates Eoin Lahiffe, Martin Frawley, Daire Connolly and Cormac Maher all packing very well and  a great example of team running.

U13 Girls

Neassa Ni hAinifein was first placed of the Ennis Track team finishing in 21st place securing a silver medal for Munster.  Ellie Pike ran her best race of the season finishing in 33rd place.  Roisin Cahill, Eva Carey, Carla Griffin and Roisin Lachnain all ran fine races. The team finished in 5th place.

U13 Boys

2nd Place for the boys u13 team was a fantastic result with a score of 110pts.  Dean Casey finished in 18th place, followed by Mark Hanrahan 27th, Dylan Casey 30th, Mathew Power 35th, Colin Ryan and Conor Shannon.  Clare finished in 2nd place also with 5 of this Ennis Track scoring.

U15 Girls

Elliese Mulcaire  ran a steady race in the u15 girls 3000m

U15 Boys

Ben Deasy led this team finishing in 20th place,  This team  consisting of James Maguire, Jamie Kelly, Scott Cave, Padraig Cahill and Fiachra O’ Haomfein finished in 6th place.

U17 Girls

Eimear McDonald 25th and Shona Power competed in this race run over 4000m.

U17 Boys

This team was very much weakened by injury prior to the race.  Donal Devane however finished in 19th place and securing a 3rd place medal for Munster.  Conor Devane, Patrick O Rourke, Aron Slattery, James Whelan, Mark Fahey completed the team.

Novice Ladies.

The sole Ennis Track entry in this race was Cushla Hehir who finished in solid 12th position.

Related posts

Leave a Comment