Smashing Day For Ennis 10k

It was a wonderful new collaboration between Ennis Tidy Towns and Ennis Track for our pilot plastic bottle-free, sustainable Run The Banner 2019 10k road race. This included:

– No plastic water bottles were used at water stations or at the end of the race
– All cups were 100% compostable and segregated from other waste by Tidy Towns volunteers.
– Water was provided in resuable dispensers, great for future races
– Printing of flyers was hugely reduced and only on 100% recycled paper
– litter bags were fully compostable/biodegradable

Ennis Tidy Towns also sponsored, with assistance from Greener Clare grant aid, reusable water bottles for all entrants to the kids race.

24.75kg of waste was diverted from landfill and will now be composted. We are also eagerly awaiting our new Community Cup which will be available to community groups throughout Ennis to prevent unnecessary waste creation even further.

Couldn’t have done with without the great team from Ennis Track, so supportive of the initiative and who have shown great leadership in the move towards more sustainable road races! Onwards and upwards.

The Top 10 Finishers:

1 492 Kenneth Rogers Male MS St Johns 00:31:52
2 494 Rory Chesser Male MS Ennis Track 00:32:08
3 475 Donal Devane Male MS Ennis Track 00:33:18
4 495 Patrick Chesser Male MS Ennis Track 00:34:57
5 160 Brian Murphy Male MS Ennis Track 00:35:19
6 476 John Moloney Male M40 Ennis Track 00:35:39
7 496 Liam Naughton Male MS Ennis Track 00:35:52
8 442 Alan Considine Male MS Kilmurry Ibrickane/North Clare 00:36:17
9 14 Brian Sheedy Male MS 00:36:29
10 531 John O’Gorman Male M50 Kilmurry Ibrickane/North Clare 00:37:51

The Top 10 Women Finishers:-

21 141 Selenia Nolan Culligan Female F45 Ennis Track 00:39:43
23 145 Anne Marie Connellan Female F45 Ennis Track 00:40:13
37 464 Noreen O’Sullivan Female F40 00:41:32
43 467 Laura Chesser Female FS Ennis Track 00:42:18
47 499 Treacy Guilfoyle Female F50 Kilnaboy AC 00:42:56
48 21 Mary Cahill Female F40 Ennis Track 00:43:08
60 135 Maeve Flannery Female F35 Derg AC 00:44:28
64 524 Niamh Donnellan Female FS Kilmurry Ibrickane/North Clare 00:44:51
69 87 Sarah Boland Female F40 00:45:18
70 129 Rose Enright Female F55 (St Marys ac) Vitalograph Ltd 00:45:30

Full race results can be found here:

Related posts