Well Done in the Euros, Kevin!

On Sunday December 8th the SPAR European Cross Country Championships was held in Belgrade. There were 570 athletes from 37 countries taking part in competitions. Ennis Track’s Kevin Mulcaire made his first appearance on the Irish Junior Men’s team for the 6k race.

The Irish junior men’s team finished in ninth place, improving on their 18th place from last year. Sean Tobin (Clonmel AC) led the team home in an impressive ninth place in 18.18 minutes. Andrew Coscoroan (Star of the Sea AC) was the next Irish man across the line in 40th, Aaron Hanlon (Clonliffe Harriers AC in 47th and Ruairi Finnegan (Letterkenny AC) 61st. Kevin Mulcaire (Ennis Track) finished in 85th and Con Doherty (Westport AC) in 95th.

[spacer style=”3″]

Well Done Kevin

Ennis Track is hugely proud of Kevin. He is an inspiration to our younger athletes. To go out and compete at European level at just 16 years of ages – the 2nd youngest athlete in the field – was a mighty feat in itself. No doubt the experience will stand him in good stead in the years to come. Well done to you Kevin!

Chris Jones, Irish National Endurance Coach, commented: “Our junior athletes are part of the development programme and they will have gained tremendous experience from this event. Our key focus for this group has been on preparation and working with their personal coaches to help them to deliver their best performance at these championships.”

Irish Cross-Country Teams Belgrade 2013

[jaccordion theme=”blitzer” active=”5″]

..  Senior Women::

Name Club Coach
Fionnuala Britton Kilcoole AC Chris Jones
Sarah McCormack Clonliffe Harriers A.C. Gregor Nicholson
Sara Treacy Moynalvey/kilcloon (Irish), Bud Baldaro
Ann-Marie Larkin Lifford AC Teresa McDaid
Ciara Durkan Skerries A.C. Enda Fitzpatrick
Maria McCambridge Dundrum South Dublin AC Dick Hooper

..  Senior Men::

Name Club Coach
Paul Pollock Annadale Striders Andy Hobdell
Michael Mulhare Portlaoise AC Chris Jones
Dan Mulhare Portlaoise A.C. John Downes
Stephen Scullion Clonliffe Harriers A.C. Chris Jones
David McCarthy West Waterford A.C. Chris Jones
Mick Clohisey Raheny Shamrock

..  U23 Men::

Name Club Coach
Ryan McDermott Annadale Striders Mark Kirk
John Travers Donore Harriers Jerry Kiernan
Shane Quinn Ferrybank AC Ray Treacy
Kevin Dooney Raheny Shamrock AC Paul Harkins
Paul Robinson St Coca’s AC Robert Denmead.
Jake Byrne Mullingar Harriers Ricardo Santos

..  Junior Women::

Name Club Coach
Siofra Cleirigh Buttner Dundrum South Dublin AC Donal Hennigan
Meghan Ryan Dundrum South Dublin AC Donal Hennigan
Sarah Fitzpatrick Dundrum South Dublin AC Enda Fitzpatrick
Clare McCarthy Dundrum South Dublin AC Donal Hennigan
Amy O’Donoghue Emerald A.C. Ann O’Mara
Isabelle Odlum Dundrum South Dublin AC Donal Hennigan

..  Junior Men::

Name Club Coach
Aaron Hanlon Clonliffe Harriers A.C Joe Cooper
Sean Tobin Clonmel A.C. Anthony Moynihan
Ruairi Finnegan Letterkenny Teresa McDaid
Kevin Mulcaire Ennis Track A.C. Pat Hogan
Andrew Coscoran Star of the Sea A.C. Brendan Meade
Con Doherty Westport A.C. Jerry Kilroy


Related posts

Leave a Comment