Great start to 2017 for Ennis Track athletes

The year is off to a flying start for Ennis Track. At the Munster Senior & Masters Indoor Championships, which took place on Sunday 15th January at the Nenagh indoor athletics stadium, Ennis Track athletes brought home a huge medal haul with the following notable performances:
  • Sean Benson (senior) silver in the 60-m sprint in a pb of 7.22 s.
  • Rianne McHugh (senior) fourth in the 800 m in a time of 2:26.42; also fourth in the 1500m in a time of 5:13.79.
  • Cillian Boyd (senior) fourth in the 800 m in a time of 2:14.
  • Peter Tonge (O35) bronze in the 3000 m in a time  of 10:47; fifth in the 800 m in a time of 2:24.
  • Martin Curley (O35) silver in the 60-m hurdles in a time of 11.06 s; fourth in the long jump with a distance of 4.40m; and second in the high jump with a height of 1.55 m.
  • Mary Cahill (O40) gold in the 60-m sprint in a time of 9.75 s; silver in the long jump with a distance of 3.75 m; gold in the 800 m in a time of 2:43.43; silver in the 200 m in 32.92.
  • Tom Micks (O40) fourth in the 800 m.
  • Alex Conway (O45) silver in the 60-m sprint with a time of 8.24 s; gold in the shot putt with a throw of 10.09 m.
  • Siobhán Lennon (O45) silver in the 3000 m in 11:53; and silver in the 1500 m in a time of 5:41.87.
  • Helen O’Hanlon (O50) gold in the 800 m with a time of 3:00.54; and gold in the 1500 m, posting a time of 6:09.47.
  • John Murphy  (O50) bronze in the 60-m sprint in a time of 9.02 s; silver in the long jump with a jump of 4.58 m; bronze in the 200 m in a time of 29.15; and bronze in the 1500 m posting a time of 5:12.35.
  • Sean Whelan (O65) gold in the 3000 m; bronze in the 800 m in a time of 3:13; and bronze in the 1500 m with a time of 6:52.92.
  • Ennis Track senior ladies took Munster gold in the ladies 4 x 200-m relay. The winning team was made up of Mary Cahill, Helen O’Hanlon, Siobhan Lennon & Rianne McHugh.
The Clare AAI Sports Stars 2016 were held in the Auburn Lodge Hotel in Ennis at the weekend. Many Ennis Track athletes earned the recognition of the county for their athletic prowess in 2016. The list of Ennis Tack winners is as follows:
  • Under 10 Boys: Ben O’Halloran
  • Under 12 Girls: Ava Rochford
  • Under 12 Boys: William Bello
  • Under 13 Girls: Neasa Ní Ainiféin
  • Under 14 Boys: Mark Hanrahan
  • Under 16 Boys: Ben Deasy
  • Under 17 Boys: Tony Odubote
  • Under 18 Boys: Patrick O’Rourke
  • Junior Men: Kevin Mulcaire
  • Senior Ladies: Dee Grady
  • Senior Men: Dara Chesser

All Ireland Individual merit award winners from Ennis Track were Ailbhe O’Doherty, Rory Chesser, Karl Fitzmaurice and David Courtney.

Earlier, on January 7th, Ava Rochford put in a fantastic performance in Nenagh to win the Munster Girls U13 Pentathlon. She posted 3 PBs on the way, and logged the following results in each of the five disciplines: 60-m hurdles in 11.72 s, shot putt of 9.32 m, high jump of 1.45 m, long jump of 4.18 m and 800-m run in 3:08.14.

The winners of the Munster Athletics Star Awards for 2016 were recently announced and Ennis Track won awards for best juvenile cross-country club in Munster, and best senior & masters club in Munster in cross-country and road.

Related posts

Leave a Comment