Dean Casey Selected for European U20 Championships

What a great weekend Ennis Track has had – a return to T&F events where all our athletes who took part gave their best and now the announcement that Dean Casey has been selected to take part in the 5000m European U20 Championships being held in Tallinn, Estonia July 15th – 18th 2021.  Massive congrats to Dean and his awesome coach Pat Hogan.  Any athlete trained by Pat Hogan receives his undivided attention and time, a coach who like many others volunteers too many hours to count for the love of athletics and for the sheer determination to encourage every athlete to be the best they can be.  Thank you Pat and your coaching team of Marie, Ita and Ger for all that you do.

Dean ran two qualifying  standards to be up for selection for the Europeans, the qualifying standard being 14:35.00.  His 1st 5000m was ran in 14:24.07 and the 2nd 5000m showed pure class finishing it in 13:58.70

Athletics Ireland Team for the European U20 Championships 2021
Athlete Club Coach Event
Abdel Laadjel Donore Gerry Naughton & Lee Van Haeften 5000m
Adam Sykes Orangegrove Gillian Sykes 4x100m
Alan Miley St L O’Toole Billy Delaney 400mH
Aoife McGreevy Lagan Valley Mark Kirk 5000m
Ava O’Connor Tullamore Damian Lawlor 1500m
Blanaid Fogarty Enniscorthy Chris St.Claire Johnson 4x400m
Callum Morgan St. Malachy’s Mark Kirk 5000m
Caoimhe Cronin Le Cheile Lisa Dixon 4x400m
Casey Mulvey Innyvale Dave Sweeney Shot Put
Charles Okafor Mullingar Greg Duggan & Daniel Kilgallon 4x100m
Cian McPhillips Longford Joe Ryan 1500m, 800m
Cillian Griffin Tralee Paul Griffin 4x100m
Conor Cusack Lake District Padraic Joyce Javelin
Dean Casey Ennis Track Club Pat Hogan 5000m
Diarmuid O’Connor Bandon Frank Stam Decathlon
Emily Mac Hugh Naas Jamie Costin 10km Walk
Eoin Quinn Mullingar Joe Ryan 800m
Fionn Harrington Bandon Ronan Duggan 3000m
Israel Olatunde UCD AC Daniel Kilgallon 100m, 4x100m
James Ezeonu Leevale John Naughton 4x100m
Kate OConnell Lucan Harriers Edith Coakley 4x400m
Laura Mooney Tullamore Ray Treacy 5000m
Lauren McCourt Bandon Liz Coomey 200m, 4x400m
Maeve O’Neill Doheny Tony O’Neill 800m, 4x400m
Matthew Glannon Mullingar Michael Lane 10km Walk
Nicholas Griggs Mid-Ulster Barry Holmes 3000m
Nicola Tuthill Bandon Killian Barry, Kevin Warner & Roland Korom Hammer
Oisin Lane Mullingar Michael Lane 10km Walk
Rhasidat Adeleke Tallaght Edrick Floreal 100m, 200m, 4x400m
Robert McDonnell Galway City Harriers Brendan Glynn 200m, 400m
Sean Donoghue Celtic DCH Mary McKenna & Pierre Murchan 1500m
Sean Harding Shercock Brian O’Reilly 4x100m
Tadhg Donnelly Drogheda & District Feidhlim Kelly 3000m
Womens’ 4x400m Relay Rhasidat Adeleke,
Caoimhe Cronin,
Maeve O’Neill,
Kate O’Connell,
Lauren McCourt,
Blanaid Fogarty
David McCarthy  
Mens’ 4x100m Relay Israel Olatunde,
Adam Sykes,
Charles Okafor,
Cilian Griffin,
James Ezeonu,
Sean Harding
Kevin Cogle

Related posts