Munster Schools Cross-Country

The Irish Life Health Munster Schools XC Championships was held in Tramore Valley Park, Cork City, on Thursday 16th February. A large contingent of Ennis Track athletes made their presence felt with individual medals and helped their respective schools to achieve team success.

In the Minor Boys 2500m race, Dean Casey and Dylan Casey (both Ennis Track) won gold and silver and with teammates Luke Griffin (Fergus AC, 3rd place) and Efe Opuoro (Ennis Track) led St Flannan’s to team silver.

In the Junior Girls race, Rice College Ennis won 1st place in the team competition  with a  very strong  individual performance from Cara Griffin (Ennis Track, 7th place). Carla was  joined  by Aoife Madigan (St Cronans, 9th), Ellie Pike (Ennis Track, 17th) and Leah McMahon (St Cronans, 28th).

In the Junior Boys 3500m race, Mark Hanrahan had a great run to finish 3rd overall, leading his St Flannan’s team to victory by a huge margin over the next best team. Other teammates included Shane Harrison (St Cronan’s), Conor Shanahan and Jack Power (both Ennis Track). Ennis Track’s Mathew Power also qualified for the All Ireland schools track and field with his 10th place finish for Rice College.

In the intermediate girls 3000m race, Coláiste Mhuire Ennis were clear winners, aided by great individual performances by Emily Cahill (St Cronans, 5th), Leah O’Neill (Ennis Track, 6th), Rachel Hartigan (Marian, 12th), and with help from teammates Shona Power and Siofra Ní Lachtnain (both Ennis Track).

The intermediate boys saw another team silver for St Flannan’s with the help of Ben Deasy (12th place), Ricky Mulcaire, James McGuire and David Healy (all Ennis Track athletes). Also in the  intermediate boys race,  Jamie Kelly (Ennis Track, 11th, running for St Patrick’s Comprehensive Shannon) was among the 15 individual athletes to qualify for the All Irelands.

The senior boys XC produced a resounding win in the team competition for St Flannan’s. The winning team comprised Donal Devane (5th), Conor Devane (6th), Stephen Maher (10th), James Whelan (all Ennis Track), Pierce Griffin (Fergus AC) and Mark Fahy (Ennis Track). Competing in the senior boys race for Ennis Community College, Bakhit Barra (Ennis Track) qualified for the All Irelands with a fantastic 8th place finish.



Related posts

Leave a Comment